top of page
  • Writer's pictureMGOA

My Beginnings!

When I moved to Ohio in 2010 after graduating high school, I had never been to a club or heard of drag shows. I researched places to go that were L.G.B.T.Q friendly and found two nightclubs that were close to each other. One was called “Bounce Nightclub” and the other “A Man’s World” in Cleveland, Ohio. I went to Bounce on a Friday Night and was introduced to forever Miss Gay Ohio America Kiarra Fontaine. I had no idea who she was at the time.


As the show began, I was blown away by the talent presented on stage. After the show, I met some of the

entertainers and couldn’t believe the illusion. From that moment on, I knew this was an art form that I wanted to be a part of. I continued to go out every Friday when Kiarra host her show… just to catch another glimpse of her.


One night, Kiarra approached me after one of her shows. She asked me to go outside with her while she waited for her cab. She asked me questions about my future. I had always carried a notebook and pen with me and took notes about the show. She of course, asked me about it. I told her I wanted to learn from her and be an entertainer one day. I wrote down songs I enjoyed and would draw costumes ideas in the corner of the pages. I told her I want to be a star and wanted people to like me. That’s when she leaned in, gave me a hug and told me, “You can be anything you want to be so long as you push yourself to be the best.” I’ll always remember that conversation and hold it close to my heart.


A few months later, I went to the other club “A Man’s World.” They were having a benefit for a man who owned a show bar years ago called Uncle Vinny’s Cabaret. Uncle Vinny was well known in the community and booked many iconic entertainers in Northeast Ohio. He had been struggling with health issues for some time and everyone came together to put on one large benefit for him.


That’s when I met entertainers like Robin Banks, Erica Martinez (Forever MGOA), Ginger Manchester, Isis Tiffany Soul, Stevie Reese Desmond and Denise Russell (who sang live). I was blown away by how beautiful and incredibly talented Denise was that night. That brief encounter with her that night turned into one of the best friendship I could ever ask for. Denise Russell is a forever Miss Gay Ohio America, Former Miss USofA at Large and a Forever Miss Continental Plus. Denise is also the first female impersonator to sing live on The Grand Ole Opry Stage. I’m lucky enough to work with her and enjoy great conversations over coffee four times a month. My time with her is so precious.


These two entertainers (and so many others who’ve crossed my path) have all been a part of my journey! These are the people who have shaped who I am. I’ve been surrounded by such great minds that have helped me grow the art of female impersonation in the state of Ohio.


Stay tuned for more stories and memories in the next rendition of Valerie's Secret.


Miss Gay Ohio America 2018

Valerie Valentino

65 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page